Das Platforms / Contemporary Art

John Fries Memorial Prize, 2013


16 Oct 2013


2013 Winner, Jess Olivieri (with Hayley Forward), curator Sebastian Goldspink and judges Felicity Fenner, Sanné Mestrom and Kath Fries discuss the fourth iteration of the John Fries Memorial Prize for emerging visual artists, a non-acquisitive award of $10,000.

The annual prize is open to all artists resident in Australia and New Zealand who are not enrolled as a student and whose work is not represented in the collection of an Australian state, territory or national public art gallery.

The prize has been donated by the Fries family in memory of former Viscopy director and honorary treasurer, John Fries, who made a remarkable contribution to the life and success of Viscopy.



Lucas Abela, Aaron Anderson, Svetlana Bailey, Maureen Baker, Ella Barclay, Chris Bennie, Serena Bonson,  Sarah Contos, Keg De Souza, John A Douglas, Sophia Egarchos, George Egerton-Warburton, Benjamin Forster, Dara Gill, Greedy Hen,  Samuel Hodge, Simon MacEwan, Vincent Namatjira, Liam O’Brien, Jess Olivieri & Hayley Forward, Tom Polo and Bryden Williams.

John Fries Memorial Prize, 2013

24 August -- 14 September

Gaffa Galleries

281 Clarence Street, Sydney


Interviews: Nick Garner

Produced for Copyright Agency | Viscopy and Das Platforms by Rococo Productions



Recent Videos